Newsfeed via: ReNew CanadaRSS ReNew CanadaEmail
AD - Skyscraper - Brownies - 11/13/17 - 11/22/17
HOUSE - Skyscraper - Top100Projects - ongoing

News, Quebec

New law changes the governance of Montreal transit

Posted on June 6, 2017

The Government of Québec has introduced new governance of public transit in the Montreal metropolitan area. The primary goal of Law 76 is to amend the organization and governance, led by the transition committee.

Laurent Lessard, minister of transport, sustainable mobility and transportation electrification, has announced that the Council of Ministers has appointed seven members to the first board of directors of the Regional Metropolitan Transportation Authority:


  • Pierre Shedleur, president and consultant Gestion Shedleur inc.

Board of Directors:

  • Luc Côté, director of transportation and urban mobility, City of Saint-Jean -sur-Richelieu;
  • Andrée Lafortune, professor at HEC Montreal;
  • Liette Leduc, senior director for legal affairs of the Solidarity Fund QFL;
  • Jean-Pierre Revéret, permanent professor at the Université du Québec à Montréal, School of Management Sciences;
  • Pierrette Laperle , writer and writing workshops facilitator in private practice; and
  • Owen Alexander Rose, an architect in private practice.

The Act to amend the organization and governance of public transit in the Montréal metropolitan area was adopted by the National Assembly on May 19, 2016. With the implementation of the Act, the Agence métropolitaine de transport (AMT) and intermunicipal transport councils (CITs) have been dissolved and the employees of the organizations have been integrated either within the authority or mostly within the Metropolitan Transport Network (GTR). It should be noted that the Société de transport de Montréal (STM), the Société de transport de Laval (STL), and the Réseau de transport de Longueuil (RTL) are continuing their normal activities in the area of service provision.

The Presidency’s term of office is five years and renewable twice. For members of the board of directors, their term of office is for a term not exceeding four years, which may be renewed twice.

The new governance model

The Regional Metropolitan Transportation Authority (RMTA) is responsible for the planning, financing, and organizing of the services offered by operators under contract that grants them. The RMTA is composed of a mixed board of directors with seven members, including the president, appointed by the government, and eight members appointed by the Communauté métropolitaine de Montréal (Metropolitan Community of Montreal).

The Metropolitan Community of Montreal establishes metropolitan directions and proceeds approvals strategic plan for public transport development program of capital and financing policy. It is also responsible for appointing eight of the 15 members of the Board of Directors of the Regional Metropolitan Transportation Authority, including at least three members who are qualified as independent directors.

Leave a Reply

AD - Big Box - FCM - 11/10/2017 - 01/31/2018

In This Issue

September/October 2017

September/October 2017

Powered by Wordpress

WordPress database error: [Table 'wp_statistics_useronline' is marked as crashed and should be repaired]
DELETE FROM wp_statistics_useronline WHERE timestamp < '1511470239'